I thought it would be good idea to use a book tag to help introduce myself to you all a little bit more! After looking at a few other blogs and posts, I found the My Life in Books tag which I thought would be perfect! So here goes…

1. Find a book for each of your initials

Lifesaver by Louise Voss

screen-shot-2017-01-06-at-12-55-34

I read this book last year after getting a good offer on the Kindle edition. I was familiar with the author from her work with Mark Edwards and had read two of their thriller novels. I was expecting something similar but this book was a lot less crime and thriller and a lot more heartfelt drama. Although I struggled to get in to this at the start, it was definitely worth the read.

– The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

screen-shot-2017-01-06-at-13-13-06

After reading one of Liane Moriarty’s books whilst on holiday a few years ago I was really keen to try out some of her other novels. As soon as I read about The Husband’s Secret I knew it was going to be one I enjoyed and I wasn’t wrong. The author brilliantly links three women’s stories and there are plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader engaged.

2. Count your age along your bookshelf, what book is it?

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 13.25.54.png

I’m 23 years old, and this is the 23rd book on my shelf! My bookshelf is full to the brim with books I’ve bought and haven’t yet read and this is one of them! This is one I’m particularly looking forward to reading as I’ve seen some great reviews of it on Goodreads and I’m not too sure what to expect, which is something I always like in a book.

3. Pick a book set in your city/country

The Yorkshire Pudding Club by Milly Johnson

screen-shot-2017-01-06-at-13-32-39

I struggled to think of books set in my home city of Leeds (although I’m sure there are a few!) so I’ve chosen this book by Milly Johnson set in South Yorkshire, very close by and somewhere I have a lot of family connections to. Milly Johnson’s books are great if you’re ever looking for a light chick-lit novel to read.

4. Pick a book that represents a destination you would like to travel to

About a Girl by Lindsey Kelk

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 13.46.24.png

A little cliche I know, but who doesn’t want to visit Hawaii at some point in their life? I can imagine nothing nicer than sitting on a beach in Hawaii with a cocktail in one hand and a book in the other! I’m a big fan of Lindsey Kelk books and her ability to write chick-lit novels based all over the world meant I struggled to choose between this book and any of those in the ‘I Heart’ series. 

5. Pick a book that is your favourite colour

The Girls by Lisa Jewell

screen-shot-2017-01-06-at-14-02-11

Blue and purple are my two favourite colours so any book covers with these kind of colours always attract me. I absolutely love the cover for The Girls (and the book is just as good!) I’m the kind of person that will buy a book based solely on how pretty the cover is, which is probably the reason I end up reading a wide variety of genres!

6. Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

The Dustbin Baby by Jacqueline Wilson

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 14.22.17.png

Jacqueline Wilson books were my entire childhood and when I was younger these books really were what got me interested in reading! It was so hard to choose between all of her books, but The Dustbin Baby was definitely one of my favourites.

 

7. Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

High Fidelity by Nick Hornby

screen-shot-2017-01-06-at-14-40-17This is one book that I really regretted reading once I started. It was such a slow burner and I felt like the story was almost non-existent. I was interested to read a book about a break up from a male perspective, as the majority of novels based on this topic are from a female point of view, but I really found nothing to like about the book. I hate not finishing books so I read the whole thing but I really had to force myself to sit down and read it.

8. Which book in your TBR (To Be Read) file will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

Little Women by Louise May Alcott

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 15.03.22.pngThis classic novel is one I’m ashamed to say I’ve never actually read! I have a list of classics that I would love to read, and this is definitely at the top of them. I’m hoping to buy a selection of the Penguin Clothbound Classics as I absolutely love new covers.

 

I really enjoyed completing this book tag and I’m definitely going to look to do some more of them in the future between my reviews! If anyone else would like to give this one a go then please comment below because I’d love to read all about the books you guys enjoy to read!

screen-shot-2017-01-05-at-23-57-40

